My Dance Life

Hello Friends!

How is everyone’s week going?

Mine has been a bit hectic and I have learned many lessons in the past two days. WOAH!

It’s been way too much, but on a good note I have been able to have some fun lately. Last night I attended a private event that I was invited to at Earls Kitchen + Bar .

It was so cool, lots of great food , drinks and I got to meet fellow bloggers and influencers. The event was a spring party  featuring the latest fashion and fast cars. They also had a silent auction supporting kids beat cancer.  If you are ever in Orlando, FL you must check it out, it’s a great place.

Besides all the eventful things that have happen this week, today Thursday I woke up thinking about dance. I noticed I haven’t really spoke much of it and it’s a huge part of my life.

So here it goes…..

I started dancing since I was 3 yrs. old in Colombia. My first performance was a salsa piece with a little boy named Jorge and according to my mother that’s when my parents knew that I was going to be a dancer.

IMG_3745

Growing up I was always choreographing pieces for family gatherings, school performances and even when I moved from Colombia to the U.S my passion never changed.

In high school I joined the drama club, chorus, the hispanic club and the International festival which showcased dancers from all over the world. I was that girl in high school know as the “Star in the making” because I was so involved in every performance at school.

17361773_10210994268506342_3839144358021219446_n (1)
Senior yr. of high school dancing for Salsa Artist Victor Manuelle

In my senior year not knowing where I was going to go to college or do with my life. I joined a local dance crew in my hometown in Orlando. It was a very well known crew, and the moment I saw them perform it became my goal to be part of it.

While I waited to be part of this crew, I continued taking dance classes and training with different dancers, I did a couple of shows and auditioned for many artist. I started working at Disney dancing with Mickey and friends for all the parades which was a goal since I was little and it happened.

I became part of SolosCrew & grew so much as a dancer and as an individual . The leader of this crew Carrie which is a closer friend of mine until this day,  met me when I was 17. She mentored me and lead me to continue to follow God’s heart.

IMG_20121101_115240

With SolosCrew I learned about ministry, about God’s love and his people. It was a ministry before a dance crew and it served the community. We did many great events and music videos with various artist. Even though we have all grown, and moved on I will forever be grateful for the great times. These women will continue to have a special place in my heart.

IMG_0340

IMG_2743
#Throwback to our first music video with Choreographer Julie Johnson in Alabama.
47845_1513247464814_1043230528_31479239_6028276_n
Here is my first headshot! haha great #Throwback

 

IMG_0852

I grew up in the Florida dance scene. I attended many dance events. Trained and competed with many talented dancers, and traveled to places I would have never imagined. You will be surprised that many of the best dancers have come out of FL.

IMG_1287

The Dance scene is FL has a very special place in my heart. 

IMG_0653

I have been able to be part of one of the best Entertainment crews in the NBA. BlueCrew, a crew full of entertainers of many forms. We have been able to travel to Brazil, London and do a couple of performances during the games. Another great family that dance connected me to.

NBA 2012 All-Star Game

My skill grew so much in FL, but I wanted to grow more and take my career to the next level. So a great door opened in Los Angeles, CA the famous LA LA LAND and I moved leaving everything I knew.

IMG_20120926_231610
I was able to train with Tina Landon choreographer for Michael Jackson, Tina Turner, Britney Spears & many others.

The LA dance scene was very different. Very exciting, I met another level of dance. I am not gonna lie it was hard because the industry is very harsh, and requires so much but I wanted to be the best so I took on the challenges & struggles that came with it which made me stronger and better at my craft.

SAMSUNG
Mariel Madrid! I watched so many of her dance videos, such an inspiring choreographer.

I used to watch America’s Best Dance Crew. I loved the Beat Freaks because they were so talented and did not compromise their style at all. I was able to take their first ever class at ML Studio in North Hollywood. We even had a freestyle session with some of the best dancers in Hollywood.

602107_10200192160860402_2129451990_n

LA has help me grow so much as an artist. New to the scene there wasn’t a day where I wasn’t training, auditioning or attending dance events. I have been able to do different performances, and work with many talented artist because of it.

IMG_1190

IMG_1360

I have made so many great friends from many backgrounds, journeys dreams and passions. We all started as dancers and have evolved into entrepreneurs. Stepping out  of my comfort zone has been the best decision I have ever made in my life. Some peeps in these photos are my best friends for life, they have a little piece of my heart with them.

IMG_1518

So where am I with dance right now?

I know this blog has been mainly about fashion but dance introduced me to fashion. I discovered I was not only talented at dancing but at many other things.  Even though a lot of people  has questioned my journey, I was never created to be in just one box.

I love dance, I love the craft,  the feeling that comes in my heart every time I hear a beat. My body can’t stop moving, I create moves that speak my feelings. It has been a journey a very hard journey where I have been rejected many many times. But great doors have been opened too and I can’t never take that for granted.

I STILL DANCE! not dancing for any major artists right now or touring. I still train and take classes when I can. As I have mentioned in past posts I have been dealing with some health issues which I’m still in the process of finding out and it has affected my body which makes it hard to dance. It sucks, I have cried, and have prayed to God but it’s just a season. and maybe this season is preparing me for another greater season that I need to be ready for.

I will dance until is my time to go. Even if is just dancing in my living room I will never let go of my gift. The gift that God gave me to inspire and bless others. The gift that was there for me when no one acknowledge me. The gift that helped me with my confidence and the one God used to transformed me into who I am now.

Thank you for letting me share my journey , I will keep you all updated with my dance life. No matter what let’s keep dancing through life, and never give up on a dream or any gift that you have.

XOXO

Kreadiv Misfit

 

One thought on “My Dance Life

Leave a Reply

