All About Metallics!

Hello Friends!

  I hope you guys are doing great, it’s been a crazy busy season full of parties, shopping, planning, getting ready for the new year etc. Holiday parties are here and the struggle is real to find something to wear.  I was recently invited to a holiday party at one of my jobs and I honestly did not know what to wear. I didn’t want to go with all black even though that’s what my heart was craving, and I wanted to stay within my budget which it’s very challenging when you go to any store specially during this season.

I have been seeing a lot of people wearing metallics, I remember buying my first slip on shoes of metallics during the summer but didn’t know it was going to be so big during this holiday season. It was huge on the F/W 16 runways of Michael Kors, Tibi and one of my favorites Saint Laurent. So I decided to do my research and created a mood board for an inspired metallic look for this holiday festivities. I wanted to find a statement piece and also pair it up with pieces that I had in my closet, that way it would balance out and I didn’t have to spend too much money.

On this board you can see a variety of different metallics like silver, gold, holographic, copper, cherry, and rose. They can be paired with neutrals and yeah they will get you noticed but there are ways to make it look effortless.image

 I went to the mall and it was a disaster, it was so packed I got anxiety and honestly did not find anything that I liked. Going to a big store that has too much it overwhelms my eyes, so the next day after that adventure I decided to visit Francescas boutique. Everything was so organized, the sales associates and store managers were very friendly and helpful. After trying different dresses, I found this metallic dress. #WINNERimage

It was very comfortable, really good for my figure and not tight! I don’t like tight dresses and even though I like statement pieces I was a bit scared of how shiny it looked but hey I knew I had to take a risk. This dress was $48.00 which is not bad, it has adjustable straps and the lining inside was kind of silky and soft.

image

I didn’t want to just wear the dress by itself because it was going to be a cold night, and the party was not that fancy even though I was looking kind of fancy. So I wanted a piece that would make the dress tone down a bit and I remember that one of my really good friends last year gifted me this pleather Forever 21 jacket with some cool spikes details on the shoulder and I paired it together and it worked.

image

I know that maybe the spikes were a bit too much, but it was a small touch of punk, and it gave a special balance to my outfit. I knew I was taking a risk, but hey fashion is all about risks and sometimes things that you might never think that would go together, they might work if you try.image

It was a cold night and there was no way I was going wear open toe shoes, I love wearing boots and this is the season for it. Two years ago I found this suede ankle boots at Forever 21, they are very tall but have a good amount of support. I liked how it had that metallic gold touch in front of the heel and knew that they would work for my look.image

This is how my whole outfit looked for the holiday party that night! 

Hair: Slick pulled back.

Make up: Bold purple lip, cat eye, and soft eyeshadow.

Accessories: Small silver necklace, clear square silver earrings and silver bangles.

image

I hope this post inspired you and gave you an idea on how to pair up metallics this holiday season. I know it can look a bit scary, and maybe you are saying “oh that’s not for me” but like Bieber said “Never Say Never”! Go out there and try something new , don’t forget to also go into your closet and use what you have that way you can look great, feel great and save some money. I had people asking me about this outfit and how much money I spent, but it’s all about learning to find what works for you and using your resources. 

Happy holidays and don’t forget to shine!!

                                                         XOXO Kreadiv Misfit ❤

4 thoughts on “All About Metallics!

Leave a Reply

